This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: May 30, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth. 

Secretariat of Commerce and Trade 

Meggie Lareau, Special Assistant

Meggie Lareau interned in Scheduling & Advance in the Governor’s office this past spring and was a part of the Governor-elect transition team beforehand. She also was deputy campus organizer for the McAuliffe campaign at the University of Richmond during her senior fall semester. She just graduated with a B.A. from the University of Richmond this May. She majored in International Studies concentration in Modern Europe and minored in Latin and Iberian Studies and History.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments 

Agriculture and Forestry 

Virginia Beef Industry Board

  • Marnie Potter Caldwell of Lexington, Field Representative, Rockbridge Farmers Cooperative
  • George L. Jones of Brookneal, Beef Cattle Farm Manager, End of the Road Farms
  • Mark A. Sowers of Floyd, Partner, Huckleberry Dairy 

Virginia Pork Industry Board

  • J. Nelson Link* of Alton, Owner, Link Farms Incorporated
  • The Honorable Frank W. Nolen of Grottoes, former member of the Senate of Virginia and Owner, Grazelen Farm
  • T. Sean O’Hara* of Richmond, Financial Institution Liaison, The Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond 

Commerce and Trade 

Virginia Coal Mine Safety Board

  • R. Thomas “Tom” Asbury of Wise, Safety Manager,  Alpha Natural Resources
  • Mike Kennedy of St. Paul, United Mine Workers of America (State of Virginia)
  • The Honorable Joseph Tate of Clintwood, Retired Circuit Court Clerk, Dickenson County 

Virginia Gas and Oil Board

  • William S. Harris* of Big Stone Gap, Retired
  • Bruce A. Prather* of Abingdon, Consulting Geologist, Olin and Muriel Prather Charitable Foundation
  • Donald L. Ratliff* of Big Stone Gap, Vice President of State Governmental Affairs, Alpha Natural Resources, LLC

 *Denotes reappointment